Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Town water contaminated just before bottling day  (Read 4239 times)

Offline seana

• 1st Kit
Town water contaminated just before bottling day
« on: May 01, 2010, 08:53:24 pm »
Ok, so I'm a newbie homebrewer and I'm in the middle of my first batch, an IPA. I started fermenting on Tuesday and I think I'm getting close to bottling day. Then this afternoon here in Eastern Massachusetts, we've had a major water main break, and the state has ordered that we can't drink the water without boiling it. It could be a week or more before it's fixed. Ugh.

I still have all my bottles and equipment to clean before I bottle. On the advise of my local brew supply store, I wasn't planning on sanitizing because all my equipment is brand new. Is ok to clean my stuff with the contaminated water, or will I need to sanitize everything too because of the water hazard? And even if I sanitize, is it ok to do it with using contaminated water? Or will I need to go the next step and sterilize everything (and, how do I do that?) I'm already a bit paranoid that I don't know what I'm doing, so this water situation has me wondering if I need to just ditch the batch and start over after the water is safe. I suppose I could boil the water before I use it, but I've got 50+ bottle to clean, so that's a lot of water to boil. Thoughts anyone? (BTW, I just activated my AHA membership...)

Offline BrewArk

• Brewmaster
  • Rick - Newark, California
    • BrewArk
Re: Town water contaminated just before bottling day
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2010, 10:01:34 pm »
First thing - "relax, don't worry, have a homebrew" (if one is handy).  If the glass is new, it has never had anything in it that bugs would be growing on and the only bad actors there would have been blown in on the wind (same as if you sanitized).  It will probably be fine. 

If you're not comfortable with that, use some no rinse sanitizer (follow the directions).