Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Coopers stout  (Read 1313 times)

Offline blackerdave

• 1st Kit
Coopers stout
« on: December 11, 2014, 01:08:05 pm »
Just opened my coopers stout after 3 weeks in the bottle and was very disappointed with the lack of head, can anyone tell me why this has happened and what I might have done wrong and can I do anything to alter this or is there anything I should do differently next time

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Coopers stout
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 01:13:18 pm »
Was it a pre-hopped extract can? If so, their isn't much you can do. A 1/4 pound of maltodextrin added to the boil might help and shouldn't affect the flavor.

Is the carbonation ok?

Offline blackerdave

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 01:22:31 pm »
Yeah pre-hoped can, carbonation just right, I'm really new to homebrewing this is only my second brew, the first was woodfordes nelsons revenge which was gorgeous jut a bit disappointed with the stouts head retention but tastes fine.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 01:41:32 pm »
The nelsons revenge is a pretty hoppy beer so that's going to help with head formation and retention while the stout is not hoppy.

what temp did you ferment at? even low levels of fusel oils can kill the head. These are formed if your temps in the first three days or so of fermentation are too high (much above 70*f for ales) or your yeast are otherwise stressed out.

could also be a glassware issue but if you get good foam on other beers I would look first at your fermentation temps.

Well actually I would look first at your raw materials. the best ingredients make the best beer and unless it's very fresh, liquid malt extract isn't a great ingredient.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein