Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: First time brew last night!  (Read 1164 times)

Offline Poe Kerbuddons

• 1st Kit
First time brew last night!
« on: December 25, 2014, 06:55:00 am »
And I come out to check this morning and I see the wort has overflowed just a bit from the carboy and through the airlock through the night.  Not much, mind you.  Maybe a half cup's worth; MAYBE.  Is this bad?  Is there something I need to adjust immediately or will it still properly ferment?

Secondarily, was my mistake adding too much fluid volume to the carboy?  I suspect so, but I'm new to this.

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: First time brew last night!
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2014, 07:58:34 am »
Relax all is well. Once it subsides you might clean and resanitize the airlock. Maybe next time use a blowoff tube, basically a chunk of tubing attached to the bung with the other end in a jug submerged in a few inches of starsan. This allows the blowoff to accumulate in the jug instead of all over the floor.

Welcome to the obsession by the way

Offline HobsonDrake

• Assistant Brewer
  • Beaverton, OR
    • Brew Batch List
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2014, 01:39:39 pm »
Congratulations! You are part of the club. Mess number one in the books. If you are lucky this will be the only time you have to clean up a overflow. Learn from it and go forward. Head space needed for fermentation foam is more than you first think.

Welcome to the forum. Welcome to home brewing. Let us know how it turns out. 
Check out my brew history and recipes at http://www.hobsondrake.com/BrewList.html

John D.

Offline Lazy Ant Brewing

• Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2014, 11:50:50 am »