Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Yeast Viability  (Read 2968 times)

Offline fm8756

• 1st Kit
Yeast Viability
« on: December 26, 2014, 08:49:08 am »
I am very new to home brewing.  In fact I've only brewed one batch so far!  I received a kit for Christmas that contained a vial of Vermont Ale liquid yeast.  It is supposed to be refrigerated, but it was under the tree for 3 weeks!  Is it still viable at this point?

Offline etbrew

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Yeast Viability
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2014, 10:01:15 am »
I would make a starter with it and see what happens.  Boil 1/2 cup dry malt extract with a pint of water, cool, and pitch the yeast into the starter wort.  I use sanitized growlers with and airlock on top to make starters but if you don't have an airlock you can cover loosely with foil.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2014, 10:04:47 am by etbrew »

Offline fm8756

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2014, 11:21:34 am »
Thanks etbrew!  I used a growler and added the starter.  Wait about 12 hours correct?  And then it should show signs of fermentation?  If it does, do I just pitch the entire growler contents into the wort?

Offline etbrew

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2014, 12:00:45 pm »
Assuming the yeast is good and it starts fermenting the starter wort I would give it a few days to ferment out completely so you are sure you have a bunch of fresh healthy yeast in there. Then I would put it in the fridge, at least over night, which will cause the bulk of the yeast to drop to the bottom of the growler.  I pour off most of the wort from the yeast leaving behind just enough to swirl around and get all the yeast off the bottom of the growler.  It then goes into the wort. 

Out of curiosity, is the kit a Heady Topper clone?  Never heard of VT Ale yeast...if it is a heady topper like beer you may need to step up the starter size to have enough yeast.

Offline fm8756

• 1st Kit