Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Trying to add more alcohol to my cider  (Read 2083 times)

Offline Joe EOMFD

• 1st Kit
Trying to add more alcohol to my cider
« on: December 27, 2014, 12:35:41 am »
 Hi everyone,

I just recently got into cider making and I'm trying to add more gravity to my cider. primary fermentation was 7 days and I just racked it today. this is my first batch and just got the first taste. it was not as dry as I wanted it to be. so, I was wondering if I boiled some fermentables and added some extra nutrient to the batch (kind of like a second fermentation) if that would help or if that would just stress the yeast to the point of tasting like s***? Like I said I am a noob so don't beat me up too bad. any help would be awesome.  thanks!
((((((Initial Success or Total Failure))))))

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
Re: Trying to add more alcohol to my cider
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2014, 01:49:06 am »
Welcome. Generally, no one will give you a bad time unless you really work at it.

What was your starting gravity, final gravity? I ask because the seven day primary thing makes me think you racked it too soon, only because it takes about 3 days between final gravity readings (two readings, separated by 3 days or more, that are the same gravity) to determine that its done, leaving only 4 days for it to do its thing... make sense?

Describe your recipe and process a bit.  Makes it easier to troubleshoot.  But, generally ciders are made up of highly fermenable sugars and should be dry as can be. In fact cider makers usually have to work some magic at bottling to make them sweet.

Offline Joe EOMFD

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2014, 02:54:11 am »
okay, yeah, that makes sense,

unfortunately I didn't take OG or FG because this was my first batch and I kind of wanted to wing it a little bit. but this was my process for this batch: