Author Topic: Bock attenuation problem  (Read 1573 times)

Offline 69franx

• Official Poobah of No Life.
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
    • View Profile
Bock attenuation problem
« on: January 04, 2015, 10:16:03 PM »
Hey all, I'm back from Florida. I just checked my Bock brewed on 12/7/14 and it is down to 1.025 from 1.072, or 65% attenuation with WLP833, pitched around 540B cells estimated when Beersmith called for 552B. When I left town, I gave it the last 2 degree bump to get it to 65DF and it was at 1.029 (60% attenuation at that point) it has been resting at 65 for 10 days and has only gone down another 4 points. My grist was 50/50 Munich I&II with 3 oz carafa II to get the color right. Mashed at 155, projection of 1.02 FG, really not even close right now. Its my first attempt at a Bock and the sample tastes good, if a bit sweet. The only yeast I have on hand currently is a pack of S04. Not sure if it is just done high due to mash temp? Or if I can get a couple more points out of it. Its roughly 6.2% ABV right now, a little low but drinkable. Any suggestions?
Frank L.
Fermenting:
Conditioning:
In keg:
In Bottles:  
In the works: Hopefully brewing 10 gallons of Pilsner tomorrow for a family reunion in July, then back to IPA and  a barleywine to age

Offline klickitat jim

• I must live here
    • View Profile
Re: Bock attenuation problem
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2015, 11:24:21 PM »
Push it up to 68-70 and rouse yeast?

Offline 69franx

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2015, 11:25:35 PM »
I can try that, fingers crossed
Frank L.
Fermenting:
Conditioning:
In keg:
In Bottles:  
In the works: Hopefully brewing 10 gallons of Pilsner tomorrow for a family reunion in July, then back to IPA and  a barleywine to age

Offline HoosierBrew

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2015, 11:34:53 PM »
Push it up to 68-70 and rouse yeast?

Yep, it should help the yeast eat a few points, hopefully.