Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Sanitizer and Septic Systems  (Read 5755 times)

Offline Bart

• 1st Kit
Sanitizer and Septic Systems
« on: January 05, 2015, 04:00:12 pm »
Hi Folks,

I'm new to brewing. Here's my first question: Are there any sanitizers that are septic system safe. If so, what would you recommend?

Thanks
Bart
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 04:08:03 pm by Bart »

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH
    • Bloatarian Brewing League
Re: Sanitizer and Septic Systems
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 04:48:53 pm »
PBW for cleaning and Starsan for sanitizing.  Both manufactured by Five Star Chemicals. 

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 05:23:23 pm »
I would not want those in my septic system, but they are probably relatively harmless at dilute levels recommended by Five Star.  Even so, I just pitch them out on the driveway or patio and they flow into the grass.  In winter it goes right into the yard.
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH
    • Bloatarian Brewing League
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 05:37:04 pm »
I would not want those in my septic system, but they are probably relatively harmless at dilute levels recommended by Five Star.  Even so, I just pitch them out on the driveway or patio and they flow into the grass.  In winter it goes right into the yard.
On this episode of Brew Strong Jamil and John Palmer cover properly cleaning your brewing equipment. To help tackle the topic, Jon Herskovits of Five Star Chemicals joins the discussion to add insight about the right chemicals for the right job and how they affect your brewing, equipment and the environment.
http://thebrewingnetwork.com/shows/Brew-Strong/Brew-Strong-11-10-08-Cleaning