Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: What's living in my secondary?!?  (Read 1297 times)

Offline BarleyHops

• 1st Kit
What's living in my secondary?!?
« on: January 06, 2015, 08:03:27 pm »
Alright beer gurus.  I signed up for this forum to tap your extensive knowledge of the art of brewing.

I'm new to the hobby - I brewed a while back with my old roommate but this is my first venture out on my own.

Anyway - on with my question...

I'm brewing a black IPA.  It was a kit from brewcraft (India Black Ale)
I might add I did forget to add 1lb of sugar since the directions weren't extremely clear.

I let it sit on the primary carboy until the airlock was down to over a minute per bubble then transferred to the secondary carboy.  This took about 4-5 days.  Everything was cleaned with beer equipment cleaner and sanitized with sanstar.

It's been in the secondary for one week and two days.  Everything looked great until I noticed some small white specs (1/32 dia. and under) floating on top.  I searched the forums and decided these must be "yeast islands" since they didn't appear like mold to me.  Yesterday I checked on them to make sure they weren't growing and noticed a few yellow specs (about 1/32 dia.) accompanying my white specs!

Today I checked the batch again and indeed the white specs are getting smaller, however the yellow specs were still there.

This is when things got a little interesting.

My glass carboy is in a closet so I have to use a flashlight to check on it.  When I shine the flashlight on the yellow specs they sink!  There's something yellow in my beer that's scared of light! lol  For the life of me I can't reason why something would sink when you shine a light on it.  I swear I'm not losing my mind, I tried this on about 5 of them individually and each one sank when the light was on it for a good 20 seconds while I was examining it.