Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 1 gallon batches - Too much Trub  (Read 3116 times)

Offline Vogt52

• 1st Kit
1 gallon batches - Too much Trub
« on: January 09, 2015, 10:00:12 am »
When I brew one gallon batches I've noticed that the smaller diameter carboy causes a large layer of trub, limiting the amount of usable beer. How have you all dealt with this. I brew all grain FYI.

Offline duncan

• AHA / BA
  • Administrator
  • Brewer
    • HomebrewersAssociation.org
Re: 1 gallon batches - Too much Trub
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2015, 10:44:16 am »
I had the same issue. I started brewing 1.5 gallon batches and primary fermenting in a 2 gal bucket (I think I got it on Northern Brewer). If you feel compelled to rack, you will have enough wort to fill a 1 gallon jug.
American Homebrewers Association / Brewers Association

Offline Vogt52

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2015, 01:31:58 pm »
I asked the same question on beeradvocate as well and somebody responded with a great idea. Begin cooling in your kettle and then transfer to a bucket until at fermentation temps. The will cut down on trub transferred to the carboy

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2015, 01:48:37 pm »
I brew a lot of one gallon batches but I haven't found the magic trick to deal with this issue. BIAB makes it much worse because you're not able to use the grain bed as a filter, if that is how you are mashing. Even using a traditional mash set up I don't think you get as good of filtering as you would on a larger batch just because there is less grain to compact into a filter.