Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Water Chemistry  (Read 3023 times)

Offline JohnnyC

• Cellarman
Re: Water Chemistry
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2015, 08:35:25 am »
Thank you everyone. I'll try to tweak the Calcium down. It's my first time really working with the water chemistry. Hopefully, I will make beer. Cheers!

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2015, 08:44:56 am »
Thank you everyone. I'll try to tweak the Calcium down. It's my first time really working with the water chemistry. Hopefully, I will make beer. Cheers!

yeah thats just really hard to work with when you start with such high calcium. i dont know much about city water but that just seems really up there.

anyway, RO or distilled is always an option at some point. you'll be able to manage the sulfates without worrying about a ton of calcium or having to use too much epsom that its gives you the trots!

good luck
Ken- Chagrin Falls, OH
CPT, U.S.Army
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Harveys-Brewhaus/405092862905115

http://braukaiser.com/wiki/index.php?title=The_Science_of_Mashing

Serving:        In Process:
Vienna IPA          O'Fest
Dort
Mead                 
Cider                         
Ger'merican Blonde
Amber Ale
Next:
Ger Pils
O'Fest

Offline mabrungard

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Water matters!
    • Bru'n Water
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2015, 12:52:52 pm »
any feedback on calcium levels and if there's any  negative effects at higher levels?