Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Filtration problem  (Read 1120 times)

Offline mvdlucas

• 1st Kit
Filtration problem
« on: January 28, 2015, 08:22:05 pm »
    Hello folks! It's the first time I post a topic here. I'm a beginner in the brew world, i've made 3 batch's by now. I've been using irish moss in the boiling to clarify the beer. Here's the cuestion: it's allright to put the brew in the primary fermentation with the irish moss in it? That's what I did, and the results didn't disappoint me, but I've read some articles that suggest that after boiling I should make a whirlpool so that the sediments remain at the bottom. Is that bad?
    I'd like you to give me advice about the filtration of the beer and how I can get rid off that particles that remains in the bottom of every bottle, and I apreciate any sugestion or advice!

Here are some pictures of my creations :)

Thanks for your time!

This one is without irish moss

And here are the ones that I made with clarifier

Offline cascadesrunner

• Assistant Brewer
  • San Diego, CA
Re: Filtration problem
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2015, 10:56:01 pm »
Welcome to party.  The clarity looks really good in the lowers and you have to keep in mind that gunk in the bottom of your bottles is what is carbonating your tasty brew.  As far as the whirlpool, that really is a preference.  When done correctly it will keep more from piling up in the bottom of your fermenter, but there are plenty of brewers getting the results they want by just dumping the whole works in.  At the end of the day there will always be opposing views so make beers that interests you, take detailed notes and know that not every batch is going to turn out the way you envisioned it. 
Run then beer.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2015, 08:35:33 am »