Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: bru'n water alkalinity  (Read 4837 times)

Offline homoeccentricus

• Brewmaster General
  • A twerp from Antwerp
bru'n water alkalinity
« on: February 04, 2015, 04:26:25 pm »
Sorry, water profile newbie here. I understand most of the calcium/sulphate stuff, but alkalinity is still beyond me.

My water company says that alkalinity is 2,98 mmol/l.
Is it correct then that bicarbonate = 181 ppm?

And what values do I then put in the fields carbonate and reported total alkalinity, and, in the sparge acidification tab, in the field water alkalinity?
Frank P.

Staggering on the shoulders of giant dwarfs.

Offline mchrispen

• Brewmaster
    • Accidentalis Brewing Blog
Re: bru'n water alkalinity
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2015, 05:04:33 pm »
I believe that you convert mmol/l to mval/l by multiplying by 2 giving 5.96 mval/l.

That is very significant alkalinity roughly equal to 298 total alkalinity as CaCO3 or 363 ppm bicarbonate.

My math might be off... so someone should double check.

Matt Chrispen
Sometime Austin Zealot
Blogging from the garage @ accidentalis.com
>> Bru'n Water Spreadsheet Walkthroughs<<
>> Bru'n Water Subscriber Version 5.3 Spreadsheet Walkthrough <<

Offline kramerog

• Brewmaster General
    • My LinkedIn page
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2015, 05:20:45 pm »
The question is mmol/l of what?  I'm not sure what the water reporting conventions in Europe are - I seem to remember that homoeccentricus lives in Belgium - so perhaps Martin can help you or you can go back to your water utility for more info. 

Offline homoeccentricus

• Brewmaster General
  • A twerp from Antwerp
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2015, 05:48:58 pm »
I do live in Belgium yes, and I asked about hco3 values. The company does not publish them.
Frank P.

Offline rob_f

• Assistant Brewer
  • Corcoran Brew Works, Maryland
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2015, 05:56:34 pm »