Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Yeast  (Read 1591 times)

Offline rdbobonis

• 1st Kit
Yeast
« on: February 15, 2015, 01:40:47 pm »
Hey all,

I'm still a newbie, left the game due to work but back now.  I got a kit from a store but it brought no yeast.  will any yeast work?  I'm making a Kolsch.  I have some packets of Feischmann's RapidRise Highly active yeast...  3/4 oz each. 
Please assist.  I greatly appreciate this.

Offline bboy9000

• Brewmaster
  • KCMO
Yeast
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 01:47:29 pm »
Don't use bread yeast.  You will want to get some yeast from the store.  I'm sure the kit was supposed to come with some.  If not it's cheap to buy some dry yeast.  You could probably use some Fermentis US-05 and ferment cool but it may not get a Kolsh-like character.

There is Kolsh yeast in liquid form.  Either buy a couple of smack packs or vials or make a yeast starter from one pack or vial.

Edit:  I think Basic Brewing Radio interviewed a home brewer a couple of years ago who experimented with using bread yeast to make beer.  If I remember correctly it kind of worked but it was sour tasting or something.

Also, as far as Kolsh, the yeast is fairly clean but with some fruity esters.  I'm drinking Schlafly Kolsh tonight and it had a bready/doughy character I associate with German lagers but with some slight fruitiness from the yeast.

« Last Edit: February 15, 2015, 02:00:51 pm by bboy9000 »
Brian
mobrewer

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
Re: Yeast
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2015, 02:53:03 pm »
I highly recommend stating out witha  yeast like dry yeast US-05. It is very easy to use. You really can't go wrong (as long as you don't pitch too warm. Cool wort down to under 68 before pitching.)