Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: What book to read  (Read 1832 times)

Offline Hickory

• Assistant Brewer
  • Tapatalk User
What book to read
« on: February 13, 2015, 05:05:04 pm »
I just picked up all 4 books of the Brewing Elements series and was wondering which book I should read first? I'm still new to brewing, only 6 extract brews to date, and I'm looking to expand my knowledge. Just curious which books y'all found most helpful.

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: What book to read
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 05:25:56 pm »
If you like hoppy beers I'd go with Hops first. Otherwise, I'd pick Yeast. Water and Malt can't hurt for an extract brewer, but they have much more impact once you start brewing all-grain.
Eric B.

Finally got around to starting a homebrewing blog: The Hop Whisperer

S. cerevisiae

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2015, 10:21:48 pm »
What other books have you read?

Offline leejoreilly

• Assistant Brewer
  • Washington, MI
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2015, 07:03:09 am »
While these are fantastic and very detailed ingredient-oriented books, they don't really focus on the brewing process, especially for a newcomer. There are MANY fine "Intro to Homebrew" sorts of books available; I'd recommend Palmer's "How to Brew" or Papazian's "The Complete Joy of Homebrewing" off the top of my head. Once you feel comfortable with the overall brewing process and understand ingredients in some context, you could plan to read them in this order: Malt, Yeast, Water, Hops. Actually, I suspect you'll jump around between them a lot.

Offline Hickory

• Assistant Brewer
  • Tapatalk User
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2015, 09:32:44 am »