Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Help with Mead  (Read 1044 times)

Offline ngillman

• 1st Kit
Help with Mead
« on: February 21, 2015, 06:32:53 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new at homebrewing, but I think I've found my new hobby..

I've already brewed a batch of blonde ale and hard cider, but I want to try my hand at making mead next as I'm a fan of drinking it and I was able to get some nice local organic honey recently for a great price.

I had a couple of questions...I've been doing a lot of research and from what I've read so far, it seems meads typically take a long time to age vs beers. I was wondering what I can do or any recipes that take less time?

Not impatient or anything, just some of the stuff I've read say as long as 6 months to be ready to drink, I'd rather expedite things if I can.

I'm also confused about what yeasts to use. The guy at the homebrew shop told me to just use Champagne Yeast, which I bought a few packets since it was really cheap.

I already have the yeast nutrients.

I also think I would like a touch of sweetness, and rather not backsweeten if  I dont have to. Ive read that champagne yeast will ferment completely dry.

If I'm brewing a 1 gallon batch, how much honey should I use and what type of yeast (and how much) should I use? He told me to put the whole packet in, even though it says 1 packet is per 5 gal. I want something not completely dry, I'm not so much concerned about ABV, as I want something more accessible in terms of drinkabilty.

My local brew shop has a really nice selection of yeast. Is the champagne good, or should I use something else?

Thanks in advance gentlemen!

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: Help with Mead
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2015, 07:07:13 pm »