Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Who Has Experienced BRY-97 Slow Start?  (Read 12254 times)

Offline bboy9000

• Brewmaster
  • KCMO
Who Has Experienced BRY-97 Slow Start?
« on: February 24, 2015, 04:41:30 pm »
I pitched two packets of rehydrated Lallemand BRY-97 72 hours ago (Saturday 2-21-15) into 5G of 1.056 OG wort and still no signs of fermentation.   I pitched at 63F but after 48 hours (yesterday afternoon) I moved the carboy to a room where the beer (still wort?) is now at 68F.  There's a layer of yeast on the bottom of the carboy and a few patches of bubbles on the surface, but nothing to indicate it has left the lag phase.  I've read about long lag times with this yeast but after 72 hours I'm starting to get uneasy.  I've been brewing for three years and I'm confident in my sanitation practices but this is concerning.

For anyone who has used the dry BRY-97, have you experienced this?  I think I can wait another 12 hours but tomorrow morning I'll be tempted to pitch some Pacman that finally woke up.  If you have experience with this please advise.  Thanks.
Brian
mobrewer

Offline chumley

• Senior Brewmaster
Re: Who Has Experienced BRY-97 Slow Start?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2015, 05:24:23 pm »
I have not experienced that, and have had good luck with BRY-97 fermentations so far, but one never knows what the dried package went through before you got it.  When things are slow for the ales, a backup plan is always good.  I have brewed several IPAs where I used BRY-97 as the backup plan (e.g., add it, rehydrated, to the primary after a couple of days of slow start), and it has always worked out well.

Offline mchrispen

• Brewmaster
    • Accidentalis Brewing Blog
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2015, 05:35:08 pm »