Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to this hobby  (Read 1468 times)

Offline amsmith285

• 1st Kit
New to this hobby
« on: February 24, 2015, 07:44:33 pm »
Hey guys, I am brand new to this hobby. I've been doing some research for the last few weeks and I've also been reading The Complete Joy of Home Brewing fourth edition. What do you guys consider the best online store to purchase all of the equipment I need? And is it a smart idea to start out all grain or do you recommend starting out with extracts?
Thanks in advance.

Offline amsmith285

• 1st Kit
Re: New to this hobby
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2015, 07:48:19 pm »
Sorry, not sure how this ended up in this section

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH
    • Bloatarian Brewing League
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2015, 07:50:19 pm »
Welcome!  I would strongly recommend seeking out a reputable home brew shop in your area.  If that doesn't exist, MoreBeer.com and NorthernBrewer.com have been my go to's, but there are other great online retailers as well.  Most people start extract, you can get away with less equipment and initial investment, yet still use most of the equipment when moving to all-grain. 

Offline brewday

• Brewer
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2015, 08:09:44 pm »
I started with a 1 gallon all grain kit, brewed a few batches with that over the course of the first 3-4 months and then ramped up to a 5 gallon system.

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2015, 05:39:04 am »
Agree with JT, if you don't have a good local shop check out NorthernBrewer or Morebeer, or if you live in the south RebelBrewer.com.

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2015, 05:47:04 am »
+1 to supporting a local shop if you have one, and like it.  If not, the sites mentioned are great.
Jon H.