Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mash pH and light beers  (Read 6992 times)

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Mash pH and light beers
« on: March 03, 2015, 10:49:13 am »
Piggy backing on the dark grains thread. Is there a guideline for mash pH and lighter beers? I assume it would depend on the style but is it advised to shoot closer to 5.2 for beers like kolsch, pils, and even American wheat?

I am relatively new to treating my water. I have been shooting for 5.4 for all my beers but will begin pushing that up for my darker beers. Curious if I should go lower for lighter beers.
On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: Mash pH and light beers
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 10:51:38 am »
I generally go for the lower end (5.2-5.3) for lighter beers and the upper end (5.5-5.6) for darker beers.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Wort-H.O.G.

• Play Nice
    • Harvey's Brewhaus
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 10:57:05 am »
this has been a great discussion here lately. I used to target a room temp mash PH5.2 for pils, wit, etc and 5.4-5.5 for IPA and darker roast beers. most recently, after reading some opinions on this, I started targeting a room temp mash PH in the 5.3-5.5 range for everything...referenced by some as a nice blend for optimal room temp mash PH. I then adjust after mash up or down- pils 5.1-5.2 and porter or other dark beer at 5.5-5.6 into the kettle.