Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: more desirable in water: Ca or Na?  (Read 1338 times)

Offline Iliff Ave

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
more desirable in water: Ca or Na?
« on: March 18, 2015, 11:30:15 am »
When needing to bump up Chloride in maltier beers I normally use CaCl but to reach my desired chloride levels. This gets my Ca higher than desired for the given water profile. Does that matter? I have considered using NaCl after hitting my Ca levels but that would push my Na levels up to 25-30 ppm. I have never used NaCl before. Does using NaCl seem unnecessary?

It seems that with only Gypsum and CaCl, I can hit:
Ca - 62 ppm
Mg - 7
Na -14
SO4 - 55
Cl - 71

This is very close to the yellow malty profile that I am going for with some excess Ca...

I don't fully understand water treatment (obviously) so I am possibly complicating matters more than necessary. I hope this makes sense. Excuse my lack of knowledge.

On Tap/Bottled: IPL, Adjunct Vienna, Golden Stout, Honey Lager
Fermenting: IPA
Up Next: mexi lager, Germerican pale ale

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
Re: more desirable in water: Ca or Na?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 11:36:30 am »
Not enough excess Ca to worry about IMO.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline Iliff Ave

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 11:37:48 am »
Thanks Denny. I kind of figured that but have wrapped my head around the nuances of water

Offline HoosierBrew

• I must live here
  • Indianapolis,IN
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 11:38:32 am »