Author Topic: Homebrewer Bio  (Read 1053 times)

Offline Rattlesnake44

• Assistant Brewer
    • View Profile
Homebrewer Bio
« on: March 20, 2015, 08:25:43 PM »
Hi, I'm Jonathan from Hawthorne, CA, its in the SouthBay of Los Angeles.

Whew, finding a decent picture of myself was the hardest part.
EDIT- thought I'd explain the screen name as well, it was a call sign from my military days, I got so used to it, it just stuck.
I've been Homebrewing since around 1998... Took a few years off because my work schedule at the time allowed for zero free time. Started up again about two years ago.
I've had a couple batches that had to be dumped but no major disasters (insert a pic of me knocking on wood here).
My current favorite styles to brew are Hop forward beers, APAs and IPAs and I've recently tried a couple Stone Brewing clones with some success.
I think if I had to pick a style that I'd never brew it would be a barley wine. Never enjoyed them that much and so, I don't think I'd go through the time and effort of brewing something I wouldn't enjoy drinking. But never say never.
My first brew was an all grain batch of pale ale, it was under the tutelage of the then head brewer at Triple Rock brewery in Berkeley, CA. It turned out great since I basically did all the leg work and he sat back and gave directions.
My only mistakes produced batches that had to be dumped. Never had that serendipitous moment we all hope will happen when we know we've fouled up.
Favorite current recipe is usually the one I've just started drinking.
Not a judge so no stories about being a judge.
No real tricks or gadgets. I'm a K. I. S. S. brewer. The more simple the process the happier I am.
Typical home brew set up (I hesitate to give it the validity of naming it a "system") Home Depot cooler for a MT, 10 gallon BK, Bayou burner, extra cheapie kettle as a HLT, and a chest freezer with dual temperature control for fermenting in this warm and glorious SoCal weather.