Author Topic: Derek from Syracuse  (Read 1652 times)

Derek

Derek from Syracuse
« on: March 21, 2015, 01:18:34 AM »

Hello All! I'm a new homebrewer based in Syracuse, NY. I have 3 extract brews under my belt: an oatmeal stout, pilsner and an IPA. I'm currently preparing and securing equipment for my first all grain brew.

I'm an Electrical Engineer currently working in Nuclear with my formal education coming from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, NY. I have been doing a lot of research on brewing and the science and mechanics of good beer so I hope it pays off!

I'm a huge fan of Belgian beers and my tastes and homebrew interests are centered around that for the near future.

I'll be brewing my first all grain batch (Belgian Dark Strong) sometime in May using an insulated bucket mash tun, single propane burner, SS pot and my Brew Demon 3 gallon plastic conical.

I look forward to sharing info on my brew days and learning tons of stuff on the forum.

Cheers!

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life.
    • View Profile
Re: Derek from Syracuse
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2015, 01:48:03 AM »
Welcome. I'm sure your electrical expertise will be quite invaluable here.

Derek

« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2015, 02:06:11 AM »
Welcome. I'm sure your electrical expertise will be quite invaluable here.

That remains to be seen! I am a power engineering guy so large transformers, relays, breakers, generators and motors are my thing but I have been known to break some solder out every now and then and build circuits.

One thing that majoring EE taught me was a love for writing out and solving equations. With all the software out there I still enjoy doing hand calculations.

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2015, 02:11:05 AM »
Saw your post earlier, welcome to the forum, a pretty good place all in all.
Jeff Rankert
Ann Arbor Brewers Guild
AHA Governing Committee
BJCP National