Author Topic: Frankenbrew  (Read 1948 times)

Offline Frankenbrew

• Brewmaster
  • South Shore Brew Club, SE Massachusetts
    • View Profile
Frankenbrew
« on: March 22, 2015, 11:33:17 PM »

AHA Brewer Profile: Frankenbrew

My name is Frank Chenette, and I hail from Quincy, Massachusetts. I was born here and I have lived my entire life here. I teach high school English. I am happily married to my soulmate, and I have two sons; the oldest is 29, and his brother is 27. We all love homebrew.

I have been brewing since 1994. My wife got tired of me talking about how I wanted to try brewing and bought me a kit. That was the best gift ever! Homebrewing has become my passion and my obsession, in the best way possible. I brewed from extracts for the first 15 years until I joined a brew club and saw how easy all-grain brewing is. That was in 2010. Now, I brew using whatever process fits the circumstances, mostly all-grain but sometimes partial mash, BIAB and Extract.

I am a proud member of The South Shore Brew Club where I have been a member since 2009. I have served in various roles in the six years I have been a member. I think that my biggest contributions have been my numerous presentations. My favorite presentation was “Formulating Your Own Beer Recipes,” for which I mostly resourced Ray Daniels’ Designing Great Beers and Papazian’s New Complete Joy of Homebrewing. Last year I won Best of Show out of 240 beers at my club's open competition for my version of Zymurgy’s Kumquat Wheat Ale. I love my brew club!

I don’t really have a homebrew disaster story. I’ve been pretty lucky. However, my younger brother got married in 2005, and I was the best man. I brewed a pale ale for the bachelor party, and when I was kegging it, the carboy broke. Not a disaster, but pretty disappointing.