Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: What to do with some chokecherry syrup.  (Read 3776 times)

Offline captain_sousie

• Cellarman
  • I am the Stig's Fat American Cousin
What to do with some chokecherry syrup.
« on: October 31, 2011, 04:27:17 pm »
I was recently given some homemade chokecherry honey syrup and frankly it's just not very good.  The taste is just a bit weird for me. There is about 56 oz of the stuff and I thought it might make a good mead.  Any thoughts about how to approach this since I have very little mead-making experience? 

Thanks,
Sou
Eagles may soar but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.

Offline morticaixavier

• I must live here
  • Underhill VT
    • The Best Artist in the WORLD!!!!!
Re: What to do with some chokecherry syrup.
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2011, 04:32:27 pm »
I suspect that if the syrup doesn't taste very good a mead made with it wouldn't taste very good either. But if your only investment is a packet of yeast and maybe some nutrients try it.

56 oz you say? is that volume or weight? if volume your talking about 2.6 lbs of syrup. so you could do a reasonable 1 gallon sized batch by diluting to 1 gallon, adding yeast and nutrients and waiting.

you might want to dilute the syrup to get a better idea of the flavour in smaller concentrations. perhaps it will be good at 1 part syrup to 10 parts water or similar in which case you could up your batch size and suplement with more honey.

just thinkin gout loud here.
"Creativity is the residue of wasted time"
-A Einstein

"errors are [...] the portals of discovery"
- J Joyce

Offline The Professor

• Brewmaster
  • "In the next life, you're on your own"
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2011, 04:43:51 pm »