Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mead Fermentation questions  (Read 1383 times)

Offline TheSalvenos

• 1st Kit
Mead Fermentation questions
« on: April 02, 2015, 12:13:41 pm »
(Disclaimer: I am a novice home brewer with almost no experience at it. I'm not sure if this is the right forum or section to post in. if its not please correct me and forward me to the right place if you could. I look forward to ya'lls answers, insights and wisdom.)

As I turned 21 I wanted to try and make mead, as an avid gamer I've always seen mead in my games, especially in Skyrim. So I found a cheap recipe to make mead only for about 30$ with ingredients and items I could find at Walmart. I started the process to making my mead and I became so entranced with its creation that I decided to by a mead/wine making kit from northern brewer online. After the initial process I transferred the mead from my plastic 1 gallon purified water into a 1 gallon carboy with a three piece airlock.

Unfortunately I had to move and get a new job and I was unable to bring my carboy and three piece airlock with me. I left my mead with my grandmother with instructions on maintenance for the three piece airlock and it is do to my irresponsibility and not keeping up with my grandmother that all the water inside the airlock evaporated or went elsewhere into the void. now it's been almost two year and I'm back and I painfully decided to take a look at my mead that I had left on top of my grandmothers shelf. surprisingly to me the mead has a extremely clear dark amber color to it and once I removed the airlock it has a very sweet and appetizing smell to me.