Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: 1st time pitching Brett  (Read 2935 times)

cptnpenguin

1st time pitching Brett
« on: April 07, 2015, 01:48:35 pm »
So I had a saison in the primary for 3 weeks, and when I checked SG it was down to 1.012 from starting at about 1.045.  I used WLP568 in the primary.  After reading the article on saisons a couple issues ago in Zymurgy, I decided to pitch some brett as well to help finish it off and get it a little dryer.  I had mentioned this in another post and someone said I need to give the brett (brett c. to be exact, also WL) an additional 3-4 months to work otherwise I'd have some serious bottle bomb problems on my hands (do they actually explode by the way, or just shoot caps off or both?)?  Do I definitely need to wait that long?  Did I just completely ruin the saison?  Am I freaking out for no reason (I'm still a noob to brewing).

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: 1st time pitching Brett
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 02:25:35 pm »
Yes bottles can explode. If stored in a box together, a chain reaction can occur akin to Bill Nye (or Mr Wizard for us old enough to remember) mouse trap and ping pong ball demo.

The brett will continue to chew on some of the more complex sugars at a rate slower than normal sacch yeast. Might be best to measure the gravity every two or three weeks and take any change as a positive sign that fermentation is still taking place.

I don't think you ruined the beer at all. I love brett in saisons. The bottles will get better with time as well.

cptnpenguin

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 02:45:15 pm »
In your experience what kind of final gravity could i potentially expect?

"When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro."

cptnpenguin

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2015, 02:45:37 pm »
And I am now horribly terrified of my new hobby.

Offline Stevie

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2015, 03:04:04 pm »