Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Another foamy faucet question  (Read 1933 times)

Offline brad2thebone

• 1st Kit
Another foamy faucet question
« on: April 21, 2015, 06:09:13 pm »
I have recently finished my kegerator project (I will post some pics as soon as I can get ahold of a nice camera), and have been enjoying rye pale ale and oaked porter of my own making. I have been kegging for 8 or 9 years now, and this is my second custom build. While there was some downtime in upgrading my brewing system, I decided to purchase a keg of Deschutes Chain Breaker to keep the beer flowing on the kegerator - this is the first time I have ever bought a keg for my personal kegerator consumption.

In order to accomodate the Sankey style of keg, I bought a coupler (SS from Hanks Supply http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00F58U66A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and some ball-lock adapters (from Foxx, http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C30F75I/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) from Amazon.

I seem to get a ridiculous amount of foam from this configuration. This is on the same line and pressure that I was serving my rye pale on, and I'm not sure what to do. My pressure is 8-10 psi for serving and I am using 1/4" polyethylene, which wasn't an issue for my homebrewed Cornies. I have noticed when opening the system after pouring a foamy pint, that there seems to be gas/bubbles trapped near the beer tap (top of the keg coupler, with the ball-lock adapter), which slowly seems to fill up as I stare at it.