Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Homebrewing and children bad??  (Read 8768 times)

Offline pliskadm

• 1st Kit
Homebrewing and children bad??
« on: May 22, 2010, 08:17:21 am »
Hello all,
I am new to this both brewing and writing on forums, but I have a question to pose to the world.  Let me start with a little background story:  I am a 24 y/o college student at a local university for Mechanical Engineering who has recently fallen in love with homebrewing.  I live with a 47 y/o male and 49 y/o female and their grand-daughter.  I brew with the 47 y/o male that I live with.  The reason their grand-daughter is living their is because the mother of that girl is a derelict mother who has no care or want to be with this child.  Without going into details on all the drama that is involved, basically there will be a court hearing to grant the grand-parents that I live with to have legal guardianship over the child so as to minimize future drama from the derelict mother who currently resides with a boyfriend who uses drugs and alcohol and has weapons around the house.  Because an investigator had to walk through their house to validate the claims of drug use etc, these people have slung $h!t our way telling this investigator that we are alcoholics who brew beer in the garage.  This investigator has notified us that she will have to make a walk-through the house to "make sure we aren't brewing beer in the garage" next week.  My question is: is it a bad thing to brew with children in the house? I thought it was a wholesome activity that the entire family can get involved in as long as we contain the final product properly away from minors..

Offline karlh

• Assistant Brewer
Re: Homebrewing and children bad??
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2010, 09:33:32 am »