Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Newbie Questions - help please  (Read 1204 times)

Offline ponce0501

• 1st Kit
Newbie Questions - help please
« on: May 28, 2015, 07:43:42 pm »
So I am new to home brewing and have been searching for a clear answer hoping for some help. 

I am making a hard cider, well two batches but both ciders from preservative free store bought ciders.  My plan was to bottle the batches at the end since I don't have a legging system.  Here is my plan please let me know if it will be an epic fail...

6 gallons of cider using dry wine yeast cotes des blancs at 66 degrees temp and nutrient SG 1.054 in primary.  Will wait until just over 1.000 like 1.005 to rack to secondary.  From there I planned to wait about 10-14 days add sorbate and was hoping to back sweeten with local honey.   Once the cider clears I was going to bottle.

I am looking for a mostly dry, slightly sweet cider that is clear and carbed in a bottle.  My concern is that adding sorbate and then honey and bottling will result in a still hard cider. 

Is this true, can I sweeten slightly and still be carbed in a bottle?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
Re: Newbie Questions - help please
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 10:02:32 pm »
So I am new to home brewing and have been searching for a clear answer hoping for some help. 

I am making a hard cider, well two batches but both ciders from preservative free store bought ciders.  My plan was to bottle the batches at the end since I don't have a legging system.  Here is my plan please let me know if it will be an epic fail...