Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Tamarind stout recipe  (Read 3686 times)

Offline VALKIRIA01

• 1st Kit
Tamarind stout recipe
« on: June 01, 2015, 07:16:00 am »
Hi there , I would like to ask you guys if anybody knows any idea of how much tamarind is good for  a 6 galls brew?

Offline unclebrazzie

• Brewer
  • Edegem - Belgium
Re: Tamarind stout recipe
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 07:29:15 am »
I've never used tamarind in beer before but have been contemplating to do so.

First question of course would be: whole or concentrate?
What's your aim? Full-whack tamarind, or a stout with hints of tamarind?
All truth is fiction.
--Don Quichote

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 09:18:07 am »
From what I understand tamarind when young can have a sour/tart flavor. When you use mature tamarind it gives a more smooth sweet flavor. I think if you are using it to provide a sour flavor I would be conservative to start and be a little more adventurous if using mature tamarind for a sweet flavor. Either way I think I could provide a unique Stout!

A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.
Kegged/Bottled: N/A
Coming up:
SMaSH Rye Pale Ale
Chocolate Rye Stout
Milk Stout

Offline IMperry9

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2015, 09:27:51 am »
Also I found a recipe that uses 2lbs of Tamarind during the boil for a 5 gallon batch.

Here is the link: https://www.brewtoad.com/recipes/tamarind-brown-ale

Hope this helps!
A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.
Kegged/Bottled: N/A
Coming up:
SMaSH Rye Pale Ale
Chocolate Rye Stout
Milk Stout

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2015, 09:52:51 am »