Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Summer orange blonde advice  (Read 1402 times)

Offline trapae

• Brewer
Summer orange blonde advice
« on: July 19, 2015, 01:05:03 pm »
 I 've brewed a centennial blonde recipe a couple times for summer and it has been very well received.   ( on the recipe below I exchanged cascade for lemon drop hops which I've never tried before.). I wanted to give it a try with some orange zest and coriander and see how it turns out however I don't want it to be too sweet.  Anyone have any advice at changing or decreasing the Crystal or Vienna if I add 1.5 ounces of fresh orange zest in five minutes and .5 ounce coriander in five minutes?
Thanks

Batch Size: 5.85 gal
Boil Size: 8.00 gal   
Color: 3.5 SRM   
Bitterness: 24.0 IBUs
Est OG: 1.040
Est FG: 1.008 SG
ABV: 4.2%   

Ingredients
Amount   Name   Type   #
7 lbs.        Pale Malt (2 Row) US
10.0 oz   Cara-Pils/Dextrine
8.0 oz   Caramel/Crystal Malt - 15L
8.0 oz   Vienna Malt
0.3 oz   Centennial [10.0%] - Boil 60 min   
0.3 oz   Centennial [10.0%] - Boil 35 min
0.2 oz   Lemon drop [4.5%] - Boil 20 min   
1          Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15 min
0.2 oz   Lemon drop [4.5%] - Boil 5 min
2 pkgs   California Ale (White Labs #WLP001)
I am a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it.

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Summer orange blonde advice
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2015, 01:08:59 pm »
I don't think you will get much in the way of sweetness from the orange zest and coriander.  More of an orangey oil note/flavor and some earthy spice from the coriander (based on what type you use).  I think your recipe looks solid, and if you have brewed it before and it was not too sweet for you then I would leave it where it is.  If anything you might want to consider backing off on the coriander a tad, but that is personal preference. 

Offline trapae

• Brewer