Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Wild Yeast Revisited  (Read 4831 times)

Offline Kevin B

• 1st Kit
Wild Yeast Revisited
« on: July 03, 2015, 07:41:41 pm »
Hi All, new to the forum! I've been homebrewing for about 6 years now (mainly all-grain ales and meads) and had a question about cultivating wild yeast - but it needs a little backstory first... (sorry in advance if it's a little verbose...)

Spring 2013, I was working on a horse farm near where I live, when I noticed a maple tree that had foam coming out of a damaged area in it's bark about 6 feet off the ground  :o my first thought? WILD YEAST!  Me being a lover of Lambics, I talked to my boss who knew I was a homebrewer (and had enjoyed me brews many a time), and they agreed to let me come back on my day off and collect some samples.  I collected samples of the foam on sterilized plastic spoons then dropped them directly into sterilized 1 gal. glass jugs containing a mixture of boiled sugar water and yeast nutrients.  Here's what happened over the next couple days...

0 hours -

24-36 hours -

72 hours -

I was amazed! Not only did they take right off and ferment, but the fermentation smelled "clean" - slightly tart, but no major off-aromas that would indicate something really funky going on.  Even after primary fermentation, it didn't even form a pellicle like I've heard wild yeasts/bacteria cultures do. I realized that by some stroke of wild luck I had a winner on my hands!  But then... life got in the way.  Due to circumstances I had to move from my current home, and soon after that I stopped working at the farm (my boss and I kinda had a falling out...) so this culture was all I had... During the chaos that is packing, I had packed a washed and stored sample of this clean wild yeast culture with the intentions of using it as quickly as possible - but it became forgotten in a back corner of the basement, stored at my folks place during the move...