Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Carbonation problems/inconsistencies?  (Read 3159 times)

Offline curtism1234

• Assistant Brewer
Carbonation problems/inconsistencies?
« on: June 30, 2015, 10:44:47 am »
I am having a bit of a problem and am trying to diagnosis what's happening and find a solution. I have been brewing for 1 1/2 years with about 10 batches in.

The problem is about 1/3-1/2 of my batches are carbing very low and pouring with little / no head at all after 3 weeks in the bottle. It's an all or nothing situation - the entire batch is fine or the entire batch is flat.

This could happen with all-grain brewing as well as both of my extract brews. Sometimes wheat beers are not carbed (that was an extract) and sometimes 100% pilsner is fine. Bottle conditioning temp can range from 66-72, both with success and failure at both ends of the temp range.
I use carbonation drops but have also put cornsugar directly into each bottle, both with successes and failures. I have not disolved cornsugar into the entire batch and then bottled.

Yeast is generally Wyeast, though I have used dry. I do not do a starter but only do 2.5gal batches. Getting to my projected FG has not been a problem.

One thing that was brought to my attention by a friend is that I:
A. Handwash my fermentor with Palmolive dish soap, though before putting wort in I let 1step or sanstar soak for 30 minutes. I have not had off tastes nor problems hitting FG.
B. Clean my used bottles in the dishwasher (with regular dishes) with Finish powerball tablets, though I let them soak in 1step or sanstar before bottling.
Of course another friend of mine said since at least half of my batches are perfectly fine and my cleaning methods/materials are consistant so he didn't think it was the soap.

I don't use any sort of additives into my beer at any point during the process - just regular tap water.