Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Starting Equipment  (Read 1685 times)

Offline vleonino

• 1st Kit
Starting Equipment
« on: July 12, 2015, 07:24:14 pm »
I am a newbie brewer and need some equipment advice.
I currently have the following equipment:

cheap 5 gallon Kettle
6 gallon carboy
1 gallon carboy
bottling bucket
bottling wand
auto-siphon
Bottle Capper
bungs airlock
large nylon mes bag
hydrometer
dial thermometer
etc

I plan on getting a mash tun, chiller,larger Kettle, and second 6 gallon carboy. Am I better off buying/making  these items separately or should I look into look into purchasing someting like a grainfather?

Offline bboy9000

• Brewmaster
  • KCMO
Re: Starting Equipment
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2015, 07:54:57 pm »
Wow, you're pretty well prepared.  I'm not sure what a grain father is but if you plan on doing full-size boils for 5.5 gallon batches instead of topping off the carboy with water post boil you need at least an 8 gallon kettle in my experience.  Also, I prefer to have Powdered Brewery Wash (PBW) for cleaning and Star San for sanitizing.  With these you will rarely need a carboy brush, but I'd still have one.  A bottling tree is convenient but not a necessity.  Make sure you have a hydrometer jar.  A wine thief is handy for taking samples for gravity readings.  I really recommend a cheap rope bucket to use as a swamp cooler for maintaining constant fermentation temperatures.  I also prefer a good digital thermometer.  I have one made by CDN.

http://www.cdnw.com/product/proaccurate-thermometer