Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Oak Chips  (Read 3670 times)

Offline bbump22

• Assistant Brewer
    • Bump City Brews
Oak Chips
« on: May 21, 2010, 04:59:06 pm »
I have a Porter at the end of primary fermentation and I was wondering how many ounces of oak chips should be used in secondary and for how long?  It's my first time using oak chips and I plan on adding some bourbon at bottling, so I would want the oak to be able to come thru even with the addition of bourbon.  I checked other posts in teh *Ingredients* category and didn't find anything relevant. 

Anyone have any experience with Oak and Bourbon?

Cheers!
mmmm....beer

Offline pyrite

• Brewer
  • Davis, CA
Re: Oak Chips
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2010, 07:00:29 pm »
I've used oak chips about 5 times in different brews.  The beers have ranged in styles from lambics, brown ales, amber lagers and even IPA's.  I think you'll find that the oak chips impart a different weird oak taste than do oak cubes.  However, I found that in one weeks time you will begin to have pronounced oak flavor in the beer.

If you don't get in over your head, how are you ever going to know how tall you are.

Offline alikocho

• Brewmaster
  • Bristol, UK
    • A Storm Brewing
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 05:15:56 am »
You could soak the chips in bourbon and add them to the beer (this will sterilise them too). Then you just need to sample until it has the character you want. As the previous poster said, after a week you should have quite a noticeable oaky character, but you can age longer to preference.
Bristol Brewing Circle (BBC)
Bristol Craft Brewers

UK National Homebrew Competition - http://www.bristolhomebrewcompetition.org.uk/

Online majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 10:18:15 am »