Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Milk Stout yeast @72f  (Read 1171 times)

Offline RandyH

• 1st Kit
Milk Stout yeast @72f
« on: February 26, 2020, 05:20:54 pm »
 First post!
 I am new to brewing 3 batches so far, 1 Ok, 1 good, 1 in bottle for less than a week, not sure about it. Anyway i need a yeast that i can use for a milk stout at 72F
 The recipe i am using calls for WLP002 but that seems to like 68f max

Yeast suggestions?

Offline ynotbrusum

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Milk Stout yeast @72f
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2020, 06:50:58 pm »
Kveik Voss?
Hodge Garage Brewing: "Brew with a glad heart!"

Offline RandyH

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2020, 08:14:59 pm »
Do you have experience with this yeast?

Mfg says
Fermentation that is completed in 5-7 days at 25°C (77°F)  -- will it work at 72f?

Medium to high attenuation and very high flocculation.
Neutral flavor profile across the temperature range with notes of orange and citrus.
The optimal temperature range for LalBrew® Voss yeast when producing traditional
styles is 35-40°C (95-104°F)
Lag phase, total fermentation time, attenuation and flavor are dependent on pitch rate, yeast handling, fermentation temperature and nutritional quality of the wort. Our research suggests that pitching LalBrew® Voss directly into wort without prior rehydration will often result in better performance including shorter lag-phase and greater attenuation.

Offline Richard

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2020, 10:22:47 pm »
Omega Labs sells a Voss Kveik and they list the range from 72 - 98 F.
https://omegayeast.com/yeast/norwegian-kveik/voss-kveik

It should work at 72. The question is whether you are OK with citrus flavors in your milk stout.
Original Gravity - that would be Newton's

Offline pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma