Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Arrrggghhh Both CO2 Tanks Out-of-Date  (Read 3399 times)

Offline johnnyb

• Assistant Brewer
  • Pembroke, NH
Arrrggghhh Both CO2 Tanks Out-of-Date
« on: July 21, 2015, 12:34:32 pm »
When I started brewing I bought a new 5 pound tank and a new 10 pound tank and kegged right from the first batch. When I needed to get them filled the only place I could find was my LHBS. I was hesitant to swap them out for older tanks (knowing I had 2 newly stamped tanks) but figured the convenience was worth it since nobody around me wanted to fill them.

Of course now I have 2 tanks that need filling and are both past the inspection date, and my LHBS stopped swapping tanks. Plus I'm stuck with 2 tanks that are pieces of crap compared to the shiny new tanks I traded for them.

Might was well stamp "sucker" on my forehead.

« Last Edit: July 21, 2015, 12:36:59 pm by johnnyb »

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Arrrggghhh Both CO2 Tanks Out-of-Date
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 12:43:30 pm »
I don't understand the appeal of "shiny new" tanks. The airgas that I swap at gives always gives me a tank with same or newer stamp.

Offline johnnyb

• Assistant Brewer
  • Pembroke, NH
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2015, 12:47:38 pm »
I don't understand the appeal of "shiny new" tanks. The airgas that I swap at gives always gives me a tank with same or newer stamp.

That's nice that they check your stamp and do that.

If I had kept my shiny new ones, both of them would still be good for about another year to 18 months.

Offline Joe Sr.

• Chicago - NORTH SIDE
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2015, 01:11:42 pm »
Shiny new tanks don't hold more gas.  I was a little bummed when my new tank got swapped out, but whatever.  They swap an aluminum tank for an aluminum tank.  And no one really cares what your gas tank looks like.