Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Lager - No Krausen, or airlock activity  (Read 6056 times)

Offline Schnitzengiggle

• 1st Kit
Lager - No Krausen, or airlock activity
« on: July 23, 2015, 07:16:52 am »
This is my first attempt at a lager.  I now know that I under pitched my 5 gal batch.  OG was sitting at 1.058 and I pitched one vile of WLP820 Oktoberfest/Märzen Lager Yeast.  I did not use a starter, and it was added to the wort at 75F.  After adding the yeast it went into my frig at 58F.  So I am 4 days into fermenting, and there is no visible krausen, or airlock activity.  I do not have a thief at this point so I can't take a reading.  Might pick one up this weekend.  I'm wondering if I should add another vile, or just wait it out?  Any feedback is greatly appreciated.
There’s some sort of weird chemical reaction that happens when you combine cat food, beer, and glue. It makes you feel like extemely sick and tired and you’re able to fall asleep.
— Charlie Kelly

Offline dmtaylor

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Lager - No Krausen, or airlock activity
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 07:23:13 am »
WLP820 is a crap yeast that should not be sold.  There, I said it.

Seriously, WLP820 is known to have a very very very long lag time, and it doesn't produce a better beer than any other of the lager yeasts on the market, so.... yeah.

Pitching just one vial without a starter just made matters much much worse.  This beer might take 4-5 days to start fermenting, and by then, it might be wild yeast that does the job, not the WLP820.

My best recommendation is to immediately purchase two packets of the dry yeast called W-34/70 and throw that in.  You'll then get good fermentation within about 36 hours, and the final beer will taste great.  I guarantee it.
Dave