Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Nitro  (Read 4898 times)

Offline BrodyR

• Brewmaster
  • Philadelphia, PA
Nitro
« on: July 24, 2015, 08:23:29 am »
I think I'm going to run out to my LHBS this evening and finally pull the trigger on a nitro setup.

I currently keg so I assume all I'll need is a stout faucet, a beer gas tank, and regulator - I have no experience with nitro so is their anything I should be aware of? My plan was to lightly carb with C02, switch over to beer gas to serve, and run it through the stout faucet.

Hoping this works out well and I'll be pulling an ordinary bitter next week with it.

Offline ibru

• Assistant Brewer
  • Brew Day is My Day!
Re: Nitro
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 08:56:12 am »
There was a seminar on beer gas at the NHC that covers pretty much all you need to know. It is available to at this site to AHA members.

I have had it since April and love it for my porters and stouts. Denny's BVIP is wonderful on beer gas. I had to lower the CO2 content of my beers to make it work. Future beers I will use the beer gas to carbonate.

Enjoy
Bruce

Offline BrodyR

• Brewmaster
  • Philadelphia, PA
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2015, 09:13:32 am »
Nice, thanks - just found the seminar.  Looks like that's my lunch break plans now.

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2015, 09:33:08 am »
There was a seminar on beer gas at the NHC that covers pretty much all you need to know. It is available to at this site to AHA members.

I have had it since April and love it for my porters and stouts. Denny's BVIP is wonderful on beer gas. I had to lower the CO2 content of my beers to make it work. Future beers I will use the beer gas to carbonate.

Enjoy
Bruce

Glad you like it.  Personally I find it strips out the flavor, but to each their own!
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!