Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Beer Writer Needs Your Opinion  (Read 2731 times)

Offline Fporch

• 1st Kit
Beer Writer Needs Your Opinion
« on: August 18, 2015, 09:06:37 am »
Hello AHA members, I am a beer writer working on an assignment for a leading craft beer trade magazine. The title of the article: "Is It "Cheating" to Use Technology to Home Brew?".  The purpose of the article is to compare traditional hose and bucket home brewing to that offered by some of the closed systems, such as Pico Brew's Zymatic or BrewBot. Here are some points to consider in your response.

1 - What's your own experience?

2 - If you have not seen a closed system brew, what's your perception?  Are you interested in seeing or trying?

3 - Is trial and error necessary to be a good brewer?

4 -  I'm celebrating both viewpoints, so civil comments are the most useful.

Thank you for your time and help.

Offline reverseapachemaster

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
    • Brain Sparging on Brewing
Re: Beer Writer Needs Your Opinion
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 09:35:35 am »
Honestly I can't recall anybody ever saying an off the shelf or DIY automated system is "cheating" in any type of brewing. I have seen people talk about whether it is as rewarding to brew on an automated system but that's not the same thing.

Heck yeah I blog about homebrewing: Brain Sparging on Brewing

Offline Phil_M

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Southern Maryland
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2015, 09:43:19 am »
1. I brew PID controlled BIAB, and stovetop extract.

2. Meh. Lots of upfront costs, doesn't seem to solve my particular problems.

3. Automation doesn't mean there still won't be trial and error. Just that the variables will be easier to control when experimenting.