Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brand new brew guy needs advice  (Read 1227 times)

Offline Marlluxia

• 1st Kit
Brand new brew guy needs advice
« on: August 28, 2015, 04:02:14 pm »
Ok so I am so new at brewing i haven brewed my 1st batch yet

and ive been doing all the research i can and most of the kinda answers have been super complexed and confusing

1st off as a baker by trade I have raw red and white yeast berries where i mill my own flour- can i use these and if so how do i prep them(sorry my question mark doesnt work on my keyboard :\)

2ndly if i can use them what kind of hops and malt would you recommend to compliment those berries

Offline metron-brewer

• Assistant Brewer
  • White Bear Lake, MN
Re: Brand new brew guy needs advice
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2015, 06:16:34 am »
I'm not familiar with yeast berries so I can't offer an answer to your question. I can offer some advice though. If you have not brewed your first batch yet, I would recommend keeping it simple. Using standard basic ingredients. Save the unknown ingredients for down the road once you have your process mastered a bit.
Ron B.
White Bear Lake, MN

Offline majorvices

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Polka. If its too loud you're too young.
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2015, 07:14:09 am »
Totally agree with the above. For your first batch you will want to keep it as simple as possible. I'd even recommend going to a good homebrew shop and getting a kit with instructions. Use a good dried brewers yeast such as US05. I have no idea what "yeast berries" are (did you mean wheat berries?) but if you are thinking on using a bread yeast for fermentation you are starting off down the wrong path. You want a brewers yeast, and the one I mentioned (Fermentis US05) is probably the best one to start with. Good luck, have fun and let us know what you decide and how it turns out.

Online reverseapachemaster