Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: oast vs dehydrator  (Read 5990 times)

Offline james_cornell

• 1st Kit
oast vs dehydrator
« on: August 27, 2015, 03:27:32 pm »
So this is my first year growing hops and the results have been pretty fantastic.  My hops are ready to harvest and I built an oast using window screens, 2x4s, and a box fan but a friend just offered to let me use a dehydrator.

From what I've read the lower the temperature the better and the lowest setting on the dehydrator is 95 while the oast would sit in a room temperature of probably the upper 60s but would also take significantly longer than a dehydrator.

So I am looking for opinions on which I should use and why?

Offline b-hoppy

• Assistant Brewer
Re: oast vs dehydrator
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2015, 12:04:18 am »
I think either way you'll be fine and highly doubt that at 95F you'll cause any appreciable damage to them but they'll finish drying up a little quicker.  If I  had the option I'd dry half of them with the dehydrator and the other half with the fan to see for yourself!

Offline denny

• Administrator
  • Retired with too much time on my hands
  • Noti OR [1991.4, 287.6deg] AR
    • Dennybrew
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2015, 10:23:49 am »
Commercially, hops are dried at 120-130F.  The faster the better as long as they don't get too hot.  I get far superior results using a dehydrator set to those temps than drying them more slowly.
Life begins at 60.....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

The best, sharpest, funniest, weirdest and most knowledgable minds in home brewing contribute on the AHA forum. - Alewyfe

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts." - Bertrand Russell

Offline pete b

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Barre, Ma
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2015, 12:08:05 pm »