Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Brewing Water Filtration Systems  (Read 1898 times)

Offline mba0006

• 1st Kit
Brewing Water Filtration Systems
« on: August 18, 2015, 07:03:12 pm »
Hi all. I'm new here so go easy on me. I started home brewing a couple years ago and noticed that not much has been done for home brewers when it comes to water. I personally have been buying 5 Gallon bottles from the grocery store. My background is in water treatment and I've actually worked with a few micro and larger breweries. Do you believe there is a market for a system that home brewers could use? Any advice as to cost? Design? Like hooking up to a water hose or kitchen faucet? Just want to get an overall reaction to the idea. Not making it a business venture, just a couple to friends and brew buddies. Any feedback is appreciated!

Thanks,

Mike

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Brewing Water Filtration Systems
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 07:36:32 pm »
I think home RO systems have the market covered. Only downside is the waste water, but that can be minimized by diverting into a cistern or rain barrel vs down the drain.

Offline mba0006

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2015, 08:04:47 pm »
RO is going to take minerals out of the water. Do you add some back to rebuild the water's profile? I think a portable carbon and sediment filter combo would be ideal if you have decent water. Removes the suspended solids and chlorine/chloramine in water. Since everyone's water is different, there is no 'one size fits all' but this would at least give home brewers a healthy water to brew with. I'm going to build one for myself, maybe this weekend. I'll post pictures and test the water. Just tired of using 5 gallon jugs haha.

Offline Stevie

« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2015, 08:12:59 pm »