Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Farmer thinking of growing Hops!  (Read 4104 times)

Offline MattFarmer

• 1st Kit
Farmer thinking of growing Hops!
« on: September 10, 2015, 05:45:57 pm »
Hey guys, my name's Matt, I'm a farmer from the central valley in Ca...  Not the best place for growing hops from what I understand.  I've always loved beer, and agriculture...  Right now I have a 17 acre block of almond tree's that are almost ready to be ripped out, and even thought it sounds kind of crazy I wanted to look into possibly plant hops.  Short of selling my land and moving to Upstate NY or Oregon (two of the my favorite place's that have climate for hops), planting here in hot dusty California is what I'll have to do.

I've done some research and found a post from this site which had helpful info and links:
https://www.homebrewersassociation.org/forum/index.php?topic=6335.0

I found this awesome link on youtube WITH A TON OF DETAILS  even though I'm not planning on going organic:
https://youtu.be/y_8rDOYYWik

I'm not sure this is exactly the right forum, but this looked like a great place to start.

Basically I was wondering if I could grow hops where I live?  The soil is literally some of the best soil in the world, but I'm more worried about the heat here.  From what I've read Cascade & Centennial hops are two of the most desirable varieties that can handle the heat and do ok...

I don't really know who or how to approach micro-breweries, but I know of a couple in Mariposa Ca, which is a mountain above where I live... 

That's all I can think of at the moment...  Thanks for taking a look at this post.

narvin

Re: Farmer thinking of growing Hops!
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 06:37:05 pm »
I'm not an expert, but I know there are heat resistant varieties.  I also think that wet, humid weather can be worse than just heat.  But I'm sure others with more experience will chime in.

Offline hopfenundmalz