Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Mash Temp & Time  (Read 3474 times)

Offline rebelbaserec

• 1st Kit
Mash Temp & Time
« on: September 16, 2015, 03:25:34 pm »
I'm fairly new to all grain and after weeks of reading up on it, I've come across a few posts about mashing at higher or lower temps than what I typically mash at and leaving it for varying times.  I've always mashed at 152 for 60 min because that's all I've known.  Of all the homebrewing books, which which one goes the deepest into all these different times and temps?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Mash Temp & Time
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2015, 03:48:47 pm »
How to brew covers the various temps and the enzymes that a particular temp range supports.

Here is a great write up by Braukaiser on various mash parameters.

Forgot link - http://braukaiser.com/wiki/index.php?title=Effects_of_mash_parameters_on_fermentability_and_efficiency_in_single_infusion_mashing
« Last Edit: September 16, 2015, 06:49:59 pm by Steve in TX »

Offline dmtaylor

• Lord Idiot the Lazy
    • YEAST MASTER Perma-Living
Re: Mash Temp & Time
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2015, 04:50:06 pm »
Most of the homebrewing books touch on mash temperatures a bit.  A couple of things worth mentioning:

1) Protein rests (around 110-122 F) can be harmful.  Since today's malts are so well modified, the protein rest actually destroys head and body rather than helping it.  Total opposite of what it did with the old malts from just 50-100 years ago.  But none of the homebrewing books will tell you this.  It's just something that people have learned in the past 5-10 years, and the books all have some catching up to do on this.  It's not opinion or theory as far as I'm concerned -- it's fact.