Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Club Status (informal or formal non-profit) and Banking  (Read 3612 times)

Offline piratefan

• 1st Kit
    • Education, Appreciation, Inebriation - Raleigh Home Brewers Association
Club Status (informal or formal non-profit) and Banking
« on: September 24, 2015, 09:40:04 pm »
My club is about to start our first year in October. We are trying to figure out whether to formally organize as a non-profit, and how to handle finances. I work in insurance, and I feel like we need insurance to protect the members, which requires money. I also feel like we need money to do fun stuff - club shirts, brewery tours, an eventual barrel?!?!?!?! In order to handle the money we need a bank account, but I am not sure if we need to be a registered non-profit organization in NC to have one.

What have your clubs done regarding this?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Club Status (informal or formal non-profit) and Banking
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 10:01:45 pm »
I don't think you need to be a non-profit, but you will need to incorporate to have an account under the club and not a specific member.

Offline bengelbrau

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 10:33:04 pm »
Somewhere on the AHA website you can find some information on the insurance available to clubs.

Offline wv_brewer

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 05:20:34 am »
Call the bank.  You do not need to form a Corp or LLC but you will need to get an FEIN which can be done online.  Our bank required an FEIN, and a letter on our letterhead stating who from our club would have signature authority.  Much less complicated than I expected.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Online mabrungard

• I spend way too much time on the AHA forum
  • Water matters!
    • Bru'n Water
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 06:44:49 am »