Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Guava/PassionFruit Paste/Pulp  (Read 3374 times)

Offline nicosan1

• Assistant Brewer
Guava/PassionFruit Paste/Pulp
« on: September 28, 2015, 01:27:24 pm »
Wanted to brew a Saison with either Guava Paste or PassionFruit. I noticed that Goya has some paste but it has pectin in it which can cause haze.  Does anyone have experience brewing with these fruit pastes? Results? Do you have alternative sources for use in a beer? 

Offline smokeymcb

• Cellarman
  • The Cooker of the Foods
Re: Guava/PassionFruit Paste/Pulp
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 01:32:49 pm »
Healthy dose of pectic enzyme maybe?

Sorry tho, I have no experience with those fruit pastes...
Anyone got a lighter??

Rob C.

Offline brewinhard

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2015, 04:07:00 pm »
No experience with using them either, but in a saison I don't believe the haze would be much of an issue.  I would be more concerned if those pastes had any preservatives added to them instead. 

Offline udubdawg

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2015, 11:28:00 am »
haven't brewed with them but thought of putting some in a mead with pectic enzyme.  Might be time for a small trial.  Up to now use it for smoothies and such.  Every brand I've bought said no preservatives, FWIW. 

And I'd echo that I wouldn't worry about haze in a saison anyway.

good luck; let us know!
--Michael

Offline nicosan1

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2015, 03:56:55 pm »