Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Another Munich Dunkel thread...  (Read 8154 times)

Offline Village Taphouse

• Brewmaster General
  • Ken from Chicago
    • The new Mayfair Court Brewhouse
Another Munich Dunkel thread...
« on: September 30, 2015, 08:18:17 am »
All:  When I went to Germany in 2013 I had some great Munich dunkel.  I thought that Augustiner made the best one but the Hacker Pschorr and even the Hofbrau dark were delicious.  I had some Czech dunkels on that trip as well but I would like to make a Munich Dunkel with some 2308 coming up here in the next week or so.  I have read numerous articles and threads on this topic but I'm posting this here in case there is any late-arriving information I should be aware of.  I have been brewing since 1999 and make a lot of lagers but this is my first dunkel.

Munich Dunkel

6 lbs Best Malz Munich (10L) [62%]
3.50 lbs Avangard German Pilsner [36%]
3 ounces German Carafa Special III [2%]
1.5 ounces Hallertau 3.2% for 60
1 ounce Hallertau 3.2% for 20
2308 Munich Lager Yeast

OG: 1.054, FG: 1.014, IBU: 25, SRM: 17, ABV: 5.2%

I would single-infuse the mash at 150° and I would want the beer to finish dry so the lower mash temp, a bit of sulfate and the pilsner malt may all help with that. I have heard of some people saying that 100% dark munich (the 9-12L stuff) can be overwhelming so they might use mostly light munich (the 6-8L stuff) instead.  This is the reason for the percentage of pilsner... to keep it from being overly malty or finishing too heavy.  I would be using my source water with the chloride and sulfate numbers being fairly close but still favoring chloride by a few ticks.  Feel free to poke holes in it or give me some direction. Prost!
« Last Edit: September 30, 2015, 08:20:20 am by Village Taphouse »
Ken from Chicago. 
A day without beer is like... just kidding, I have no idea.

Offline BrodyR

• Brewmaster
  • Philadelphia, PA