Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Filtering After Moving To Secondary Fermenter  (Read 1820 times)

Offline Aggelos

• 1st Kit
Filtering After Moving To Secondary Fermenter
« on: October 08, 2015, 10:04:56 am »
I am a beginner at brewing mead to start off with. My first batches I wasn't aware that you needed to separate the mead from the yeast after primary fermentation was complete. This caused my mead to be flavored vodka instead of proper mead.

My latest batch I used an auto-siphon to get it out of the yeast just shy of one month and the mead was still cloudy but I did get out of the majority of the yeast. Now about a month later it is clear as in the attachment below BUT there is alot of sediment on the bottom.

I was thinking of just using a water filter like a Britta or something to filter out any particles but I am worried that it will effect the taste of the mead as this batch has a wonderful taste already and I was curious how other mead makers get their meads clear.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline mchrispen

• Brewmaster
    • Accidentalis Brewing Blog
Re: Filtering After Moving To Secondary Fermenter
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2015, 10:33:32 am »
Don't use a Brita. Simply re-rack again and let that settle. It is painful, but rack above that lees and try to leave a little clear mead on it. If you get lees then try some gelatin or SuperKleer.

I rack most of my meads at least three times and then fine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Matt Chrispen
Sometime Austin Zealot
Blogging from the garage @ accidentalis.com
>> Bru'n Water Spreadsheet Walkthroughs<<
>> Bru'n Water Subscriber Version 5.3 Spreadsheet Walkthrough <<

Offline Aggelos

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2015, 11:04:42 am »