Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: What is first wort hopping  (Read 2125 times)

Offline Koehler

• 1st Kit
  • RDWHAHB
What is first wort hopping
« on: October 21, 2015, 07:47:45 am »
I have been brewing for at least two years, but I have not heard of FWH. The brewing circle in my immediate area is very small, by small I mean me and one other guy. Any insight would be great.
Thanks in advance
-Koehler
Fermenting: Amber Ale

On Tap: Brown Ale

Next to Brew: Octoberfest

Offline 69franx

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
  • Bloatarian Brewing League
Re: What is first wort hopping
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2015, 07:53:45 am »
This is adding hops to your boil kettle during the mash runoff and they remain in kettle throughout the boil
Frank L.
Fermenting: Nothing (ugh!)
Conditioning: Nothing (UGH!)
In keg: Nothing (Double UGH!)
In the works:  House IPA, Dark Mild, Ballantine Ale clone(still trying to work this one into the schedule)

Offline Stevie

What is first wort hopping
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2015, 07:53:52 am »
FWH is adding the bittering addition while sparging. It is said to add a mellower bitterness and contributes flavor of a 20 min addition.

http://beersmith.com/blog/2008/03/17/the-first-wort-hop-beer-brewing-techniques/

I use it from time to time. I brew a kolsch that is only hopped at FW with Nelson. Turns out well.

Offline Koehler

• 1st Kit
  • RDWHAHB
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2015, 08:09:34 am »
Thanks for the information guys. Does this mean if you only FWH that you would not need to have a boil prior to fermenting?

Offline erockrph

• I must live here
  • Chepachet, RI
    • The Hop WHisperer
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2015, 08:11:58 am »
Thanks for the information guys. Does this mean if you only FWH that you would not need to have a boil prior to fermenting?