Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Keeping Mash at temp  (Read 4553 times)

Offline tonydl77

• 1st Kit
Keeping Mash at temp
« on: October 23, 2015, 03:13:46 pm »
Greeting fellow brewers.
I am new to home brewing and have a rookie question. when using a cooler as a mashtun, how do you increase the temperature when the temperature drops? Is it as simple as pouring in some more boiling water or what is the correct way of doing this?

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Keeping Mash at temp
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2015, 03:16:08 pm »
Welcome

Don't worry about a few degree drop over the course of the mash. If you miss your target and want to adjust, boiling water or ice both work well.

I loose about 1-2° over 60 minutes. Lower when it's hot, higher when it's cold.

Offline tonydl77

• 1st Kit
Re: Keeping Mash at temp
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2015, 03:23:26 pm »
For some strange reason, I lost almost 7 degrees, so I added about two cups of boiling water midway through the mash but I wasn't sure if that was the right way of doing it. I suppose it might be easier to control if you mash in a kettle on a stove.

Offline duboman

• Senior Brewmaster
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2015, 03:28:22 pm »
7 degrees seems like a lot and it could be stratification of the mash and where you are taking the temp from. Also be sure your thermometer is properly calibrated.

You can always wrap your MT in a blanket during the mash if it really is losing that much heat over 60 minutes. It is also a good idea to pre-heat your mash tun prior to dough in.
Peace....Love......Beer......

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the craft of beer since 2010

Offline Stevie

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2015, 03:32:43 pm »
Coolers work great.

How often were you opening the cooler? I measure when I mash in and sometimes at the end to see where it is at. No need to open it more often in my opinion.